ValChoice is the #1 independent insurance comparison website. Our cost calculators help you find the best auto insurance and homeowners insurance companies in New Jersey. Enter your information below to get insurance quotes and compare car insurance and home insurance companies.
Find the Best Car Insurance and Homeowners Insurance in New Jersey
Car Insurance Video Library
How much does New Jersey car insurance and home insurance cost?
The ValChoice car insurance calculator and homeowners insurance calculator were built so you could know what's a fair price for your insurance.
Home Insurance Video Library
Find Out How Your New Jersey Car Insurance and Home Insurance Companies Rate
Special Offer: Get a Premium Rating -- Includes Claims Handling Score (a $9.95 value) -- for Free
Car Insurance Blog
The only place where you find cheap car insurance while also getting the best car insurance. We even show you how to get car insurance discounts.
Home Insurance Blog
Whether you want cheap home insurance or the best home insurance, we have the answers to your home insurance questions.
Important New Jersey Laws and Regulations
A summary of the driving safety laws for the state of New Jersey can be found with this link. The information includes a summary of the laws affecting people driving cars, or riding motorcycles or bicycles while using cell phones or texting. Also included are the requirements for child safety seats, wearing a helmet and being under the influence while operating a vehicle in the state of New Jersey.
The New Jersey Statute of Limitations defines the time limit following an accident when you can file a lawsuit. Once this time limit has passed, you can no longer file a lawsuit.
New Jersey is referred to as a "no fault" state for auto insurance. With no fault insurance, it doesn't matter who causes an accident. No matter whose fault the accident is, your insurance pays for your bodily injuries and your passengers bodily injuries. The property damage portion of the minimum insurance coverage pays for repairs to the other persons vehicle or property. If you want coverage for your own vehicle, that coverage can be purchased, but is not required. In the event that you are at fault and the other party has bodily injuries in excess of the $15,000 minimum coverage, you will be personally responsible for those medical bills. To avoid being personally responsible you can purchase additional bodily injury liability coverage. Click this link for more information on car insurance coverage requirements in New Jersey.
For homeowners, NJ law allows for a different deductible when a windstorm occurs. The deductible can apply to damage caused by wind whenever the National Weather Service declares a hurricane and wind speeds of 74 mph are measured somewhere in the state. Be sure to understand how the hurricane deductible can apply to you.
New Jersey has minimum auto insurance amounts that are required by law. The table below shows the NJ minimum car insurance limits.
Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Required in New Jersey
|Personal Injury Protection||15,000|
Resources Available to Consumers
Small Claims Court is available for you to resolve issues, without needing to hire an attorney. This link to the small claims court provides more information, including the dollar limit of claims that can be made in this court.
The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is for disaster victims who are uninsured, underinsured or the victim of a flood.